Get your FREE Inside Composite membership

Sign me up!

13th August 2018, Arlington, VA

ACMA announces Membership Award winners

This year’s ACMA Membership Awards winners will be celebrated at ACMA’s Membership Awards and Recognition Ceremony on 15 October 2018, during CAMX. © Inside CompositesEvery year, the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA) celebrates its members with the ACMA Membership and Awards. These prestigious awards honour the work of individuals that have helped to develop and grow critical markets, advocate for composites and make the industry successful through the years.

“Our industry depends on the selfless dedication of outstanding individuals who have gone above and beyond for years to help ACMA grow the industry,” said Tom Dobbins, ACMA President & CEO. “Without these leaders, our association and the composites industry at large would not be where it is today.”

This year’s ACMA Membership Awards winners will be celebrated at ACMA’s Membership Awards and Recognition Ceremony on 15 October 2018, during CAMX- The Composites and Advanced Materials Expo (CAMX) in Dallas, TX.

Lifetime Achievement Award

William Seemann, President, Seemann Composites, is largely responsible for laying the foundation for the composite material processes used in today’s marine industry. In the late 1960s, William Seemann’s interest in the research and development of composites fabrication led him to the invention and patenting of the C-Flex boatbuilding system, which enables builders to build one-off composite boats without a mould.

In the years following, racing yachts built with C-Flex began to dominate sailing circuits around the world. The system has been used in more than 80 countries and is still being used today.

Hall of Fame Award, Awarded Posthumously

Jeff Craney, Former President, Crane Composites, began his career in the 1980s at Owens Corning, where he held a variety of positions in operations, sales, customer service and management. In 2007, he joined Crane Composites as president. From 2015-2017, Craney served as Chairman of the ACMA Board of Directors.

During his tenure, ACMA grew immensely as an organisation by significantly increasing its revenues and drastically improving its operations. Between 2015-2017, ACMA and SAMPE’s CAMX show became the premier composites trade show and conference in North America, ACMA’s government affairs program achieved critical legislative and regulatory victories, ACMA developed CompositesLab – the first central online resource for composites education and its membership grew to more than 500 members.

Mr Craney retired from Crane Composites and the composites industry in 2017. This year, he passed away after a health battle.

Hall of Fame Award

David Herzog, Director of R&D, Interplastic Corporation, has been an invaluable contributor to ACMA programmes for decades. He has been an active member of ACMA’s Regulatory Steering Committee and played a critical role in the committee’s most seminal achievements.

He also has served as chairman of ACMA’s Technical Committee and has led the association’s guidelines for technical paper and poster session reviews for various conferences, including CAMX and COMPOSITES. He also has been a vital leader in education session programming for conferences.

Outstanding Volunteer Award

Over the past two years, Trevor Gundberg, Director of Composites Engineering, Vectorply Corporation, provided important technical and educational materials that facilitated the development of four Certified Composites Technician (CCT) program updates. Gundberg was also an integral part of the development of a new Advanced Composites program for CCT. His hard work behind the scenes to review data, documentation and training materials has been immensely helpful to ACMA programmes.

This article is also appears in...


Be the first to comment on ACMA announces Membership Award winners


Back to Top